Why go with an I/O?

Jay E

Recruit
Hi All,

I've been lurking for a while and am getting ready to buy a boat. I have a lot of experience with small boats (25hp or less) but I know very little about larger boats. I am looking to purchase an 18' - 20' runabout, but I am not sure what type of power source to go with (I/O verses outboard). I've gotten a lot of time on an I/O the last 3 years using a friends boat (which he has offered to sell me, but that is for a different post) but other than driving it I know very little about them.

What are the pros/cons of an I/O verses an outboard ... ease of maintenance, cost of ownership, reliability, blah blah blah.

I would apreciate any insight than anyone can offer, please just don't turn it into a bash fest of one over another.

Thanks,

Jay

Huron Angler

Admiral
Re: Why go with an I/O?

One advantage of an outboard is that it is easier to remove and repower with a newer outboard if necessary. Folks that are good at working on car engines like IO's since they are similar is many regards.

I like outboards since you can always buy an empty hull that may or may not need some work and throw an outboard on it and go. Both types have their strong suits...really depends on your needs.

Welcome to the forums and Good luck:)

jtybt

Senior Chief Petty Officer

...and that's pretty much the long and short of it.

Brew2

Chief Petty Officer

I've recently changed from many years as an outboard owner to an I/O.

The couple things that strike me most about the difference between them are....

For a "smaller" boat, the outboard left a lot more floor space. To get the same floor space you'd need an extra couple feet of boat in an I/O.

If you are a DIY'r, the maintenance/repairs on the outboard seemed a lot simpler to me. Having said that, I don't have much experience in automotive repair, so maybe someone who does would find the reverse.

The swim platform on the back of most I/O's is great for the family....kids love jumping off it.