1988 Bayliner Capri with a 2.3L OMC Ford cobra

Tkilkenny

Seaman
Hello,

I’m new to the voting world. Just picked up a 1988 Bayliner that bough from my boss. He was the original owner took really good care of it. It has sat for several years. He did properly winterize it. Besides the following what else should i be looking at/replacing to get it running again?
List of to do:
Drop and replace stern drive oil
Pump out engine oil and replace
Oil filter
Fuel filter
Replace spark plugs
Replace battery
Clean/Rebuild carb
Pump any only gas out of tank

Attachments

• IMG_0344.jpeg
    IMG_0344.jpeg
    3.2 MB · Views: 16
  • IMG_0352.jpeg
    IMG_0352.jpeg
    2.2 MB · Views: 16
  • IMG_0337.jpeg
    IMG_0337.jpeg
    2.9 MB · Views: 16

ThomW

Chief Petty Officer
Make sure you also change the water pump impeller when doing lower unit oil change.
Make sure you know how to change the gear lube on the OMC, as it is a different technique than some outboards...there are 3 plugs, not 2... and you fill from the middle one....a little research on doing it properly can save you from destroying the gears in the lower unit.

Tkilkenny

Seaman
Ok thank you, where could I get a replacement water pump impeller? I have the original owners manual and also purchased the big one

Attachments

• IMG_7813.jpeg
    IMG_7813.jpeg
    1.7 MB · Views: 1
  • 71150363508__53CDD9F9-1703-4C2F-BFDF-598E2BCEFB22.jpeg
    71150363508__53CDD9F9-1703-4C2F-BFDF-598E2BCEFB22.jpeg
    1.2 MB · Views: 1

ThomW

Chief Petty Officer
I would need the model number of the motor to say with 100% certainty, but if you in fact have a 1988 2.3 motor, then yes. the 984461 part number would be the correct OMC part number for the water pump kit for that drive.

Lou C

Supreme Mariner
I've had a Cobra for approx 20 years, they are good when set up right and maintained properly. I would use OEM parts for impellers, shift cables and driveshaft bellows.
Check on this site to see if they sell OEM parts for OMC