1974 Duo Vagabond 17' sterndrive Transom and stringers project

Redtruck12

Petty Officer 1st Class
Hello all
starting this thread to document my project boat.
recently purchased (last fall)1974 Duo Vagabond (Starcraft Capri) really like the style of this little bowrider and started the tear down recently.
i knew the transom was likely original and possible soft, same with the rear section of the stringers.
had it up to my shop (I am an Automotive Technician) pulled the lower unit , removed thr battery box, fuel tank and engine, removed the inner transom plate and gimble assembly and was quite surprised how easily and quickly everything came apart.
as I suspected the lower 8-10 inches of the transom and rear section of the stringers are rottenšŸ˜’
Not any surprise but no good news either.
i have worked on pretty much everything with wheels and an engine over my 30 odd years in the business but this is my first boat.
This hull design only uses 2 stringers.
my expectation is likely stringers the entire length and a complete transom board replacement.
i have some experience with Fiberglas and a fair bit of experience working with wood.
Realisticlly I know I will need some guidance form more experienced members on some of the details but look forward to working through this project with my 2 sons.
i will add some pictures as the tear down continues.
Should be an interesting experience

planning ahead, I keep reading about "Marine grade Plywood" ? Is this something through a specialty shop? I was at a local big box hardware store today and had a look at what they had for 3/4 " plywood (I assume I need that doubled.
they had what looked like ordinary plywood with 5 layers but also had Oak plywood that was I think 9 layers and looked very high quality with no knots or roughness, was about $20 more than ordinary for a 4x8 sheet.
what do I need to use?
also, for stringers, what type of wood is the preferred to use? Pressure treated? Pine? Spruce?

thanks for reading.