Removing glue and carpet residue

Status
Not open for further replies.

ezrollin

Seaman
After scraping my deck I have glue and a small amount of carpet fiber left on the deck,I'm using a 3" belt sander on it but it's slow.Is there something inexspensive I can pour on it to break down the glue and make it easier to remove?

asdasc

Senior Chief Petty Officer
Re: Removing glue and carpet residue

I am thinking that anything that will break down the carpet glue would break down the glue in the plywood, and soak into the wood and be quite flammable.

Either keep sanding, or put down another 1/4" layer of subfloor would be my advice, but I am by no means an expert.

ezrollin

Seaman

Yeah,I was thinking the same thing.I'm going to coat the deck with an expoy coating instead of carpet,anything that what soften the glue might have an adverse affect it also.Guess I'll just take my time and use the belt sander.

FishinInMizzou

Seaman Apprentice

I don't know if it will work on a wooden deck but......... I bought an old Soonercraft deckboat and replaced the carpet in it. When I pulled up the old carpet the glue and carpet residue were still there. I went to Lowe's and bought one of those tools roofers use to take old shingles off of the roof. It is about four feet long and on the end there is a flat metal blade. On the old fiberglass it did an excellent job in taking up all of the old gunk. I think it might work on the wood, but you would want to make sure you were scraping, not digging.

Good Luck!

EGlideRider

Lieutenant Junior Grade

asdacs is right on the point. I agree with his assessment.

pine island fred

Lieutenant Junior Grade

ACETONE or NAPTHA ( lighter fluid ) and a wire brush does the trick for me in all my cleaning.
Both evaporate real quick. FRED

dodger11

Seaman Apprentice

I hope you are not a smoker, using naptha and acetone.

ezrollin

Seaman