oil leak on 3.0

Fscott4

Petty Officer 3rd Class
1991 3.0, I took the boat out today for the first time. Runs very well but I discovered an oil leak on the front of the engine near where the large cooling hose connects. Seems to me this would be the timing cover gasket, but since I'm just learning about the marine engines, I have to second guess myself. I am thinking the water pump and timing cover have to be removed and new gasket kit installed, unless someone has some other ideas where to look.
Thanks!

Fscott4

Petty Officer 3rd Class
Is the pan gasket integrated into the timing cover gasket? The pan doesn’t leak at all and I would love to avoid engine removal, even though it is the best way.

ROY WILLIAMS

Petty Officer 1st Class
Is the pan gasket integrated into the timing cover gasket? The pan doesn’t leak at all and I would love to avoid engine removal, even though it is the best way.
remove the timing cover then inspect the pan gasket.
I took off my timing cover and I inspect the pan cover ... cleaned it and I put the sealer of the gasket ..the oil pan is not leaking .. I had to fix the water pump...
if you take out the motor , a lot of money...drop the oil pan ..

QBhoy

Fleet Admiral
Before going all in and drastic…have you ruled out all other possibilities like over spill from filling with oil and it finding its way to there ? Rocker cover gasket leak perhaps ? Oil over fill perhaps ? Just in case.

dubs283

Vice Admiral
Yeah, it is integrated. Not with the gasket but the lower portion of the cover

Everybody loves the easy way but it's not always the case.

If you really want to replace the timing cover gasket you should remove the engine and do a complete reseal proper

airshot

Rear Admiral