Where were you

gonfishn

Commander
when the first plane hit the towers. My wife and i were crossing the Peace River Bridge coming back from the falls when the first plane hit. They closed the border as we were crossing. It was the longest ride home wondering if we were at war.

garbageguy

Lieutenant Commander
I was at the office and wondering why everyone was (quietly) watching the TV in the conference room, then I went to look...

There's a memorial in a nearby park that I ride by often. I always take a moment to reflect on all that it means - we must never forget

Volphin

Lieutenant
I was in my office and remember watching it on the conf. room TV. I remember getting highly pissed off..

southkogs

Staff member
I had just gotten up (worked second shift back then). I remember most all of it very vividly as I was keenly aware of what was going to happen to the building because I was a facility manager for a building designed by the same architect as the WTC.

Creepiest thing I recall locally was seeing a combat air patrol of 2 F-16s passing back and forth over Nashville. My guess is they were inbound to look over Oak Ridge.

gm280

Supreme Mariner
I was in the office and we had set up a large screen (tube model of course) TV and the managers/supervisors made a schedule for somebody there to watch the news swapping out every hour. However, we had a young girl in the office at the time that had folks coming into the United States and was worried sick about them. So I gave up my hour time frame to her so she could at least feel like she was doing something... Sad day for this nation, but it did bring everybody together no matter gender, race, color, or religion proving that we are all one people when we need to be...

ondarvr

Supreme Mariner
I was just leaving the house headed for the airport to go to Sea Ray, I had scheduled a later flight that day than normal, on the normal flight I would have been in the air and stuck in Phoenix when they shut down all flights.