What to do with this crack?

peckus

Cadet
I attached some pics and will admit to being a total newbie. I am thinking sanding the damaged area down and reapplying some new fibreglass on top should work...thoughts?

Attachments

• crack3.JPG
    crack3.JPG
    73 KB · Views: 0

oops!

Supreme Mariner
Re: What to do with this crack?

yup.......

thats metal flake paint.....youll have to grind out around the area to be glassed.....

make sure its vaccumed...then cleaned with aceitone....

since that is a high stress area.....you will need a few layers of matt...then a roving then matt and a finishing veil of glass.....

it can be done in just a few hours.

cheers
oops

oops!

Supreme Mariner

and btw.....welcome to i boats :)

ondarvr

Supreme Mariner

Exactly what part of the boat are we looking at? It may change how it needs to be repaired.

oops!

Supreme Mariner

it looks like the back top corner of a splashwell....the wood is the transom plate

proshadetree

Lieutenant Commander

Is that the transom?Why is that wood on top?you might be in for some work

oops!

Supreme Mariner

some type of owner applied cap

ondarvr

Supreme Mariner

I was thinking the same thing, someone tried to bolt some wood to a rotten transom in hopes of making it last longer. If that's the case, the only solution is to rip it appart and rebuild it, plus all the other wood in the boat.

Bondo

Staff member

Ayuh,....

That looks downright Dangerous.....

peckus

Cadet

It is in the corner of the splashwell. I am planning on taking the wood off the transom and will snap a few more photos. I got this boat for next to nothing so am not going to be surprised by any surprises. Thanks for the help keep it coming!

Attachments

• transom.JPG
    transom.JPG
    76.6 KB · Views: 0

jcsercsa

Captain