Sob Story

Jim Graham

Cadet
I bought a 1988 Carver 21 aft cabin. 260 merc with a MR Drive. Shortly after that I broke an exhaust valve. When I tore the engine down I found 30 over pistons so I decided to replace the motor. I bought a Crusader Power Pac. 300Hp. chev 350. Right away I had problems injesting water. To make a long story short. I was told my exhaust was too low but after 6 new starters, 3 flywheel ring gears, 4in. risor extensions and a lot of my labor pulling the engine and drive several times This engine will not work on my boat! I am a mechanic by trade so I'm not a rookie at all
and I have had and worked on boats all of my life. sometimes it is best to let the marine people deal with a problem like mine. I had no idea at all that the increased valve overlap on the new 350 would suck in water. My wife wants me to sell it. I told her fine I can proubly get 1 thousand. Thats 500 each. I now have over 30,000 invested. My only hope is to get my old 350 back and start again. Thought all would get a kick out of my story!
Slim Jim

MikDee

Banned
Re: Sob Story

Wow! Sorry to hear that Jim, are you sure your exhaust flappers are there, & working? this could be the cause of your water ingestion, unless you have bypassed this with thru-hull exhaust.

Capt Ken

Commander

Before I got halfway thru your story I knew what your problem was. I see this all the time with the high performance engines. Those cams with too much valve overlap will suck water back into the cylinders all the time. Flappers won't help since its sucking the exhaust water that is exiting the risers back into the exhaust. Just a good ole standard 5.7 with a good ole standard marine cam will do just fine.

Don S

Honorary Moderator Emeritus

Yes, those engines do have valve overlap and they do suck water back into the cylinders (at idle), but the Crusader is a marine engine, and should have a marine cam in it, and it should last.