Old Ford engine help

redneck joe

Supreme Mariner
not an engine guy much, can do the basics but don't know enough to troubleshoot. I do have 'a guy' that is a diesel mechanic by trade and he can do most but there are times when we both have need to research but regardless I like to know what I'm talking about when I'm talking about it.

So - got an old ford about a year ago. 96 with a 351 5.8, injected.

I've replaced a bunch of stuff but in this scenario I think what matters is it has a new distributor. Was running OK since I bought it other than a pretty good knock after if warmed up. Was talking to my guy and we realized we had not yet changed the plugs and wires. After laughing about it I ordered plugs and wires in and did the replacements about a week ago along with a new air filer - threw away the KN and dropped in a paper one. Runs way better and the knocking is almost gone.

But....

New thing is it like to just die when I'm coming to a stop or almost like for going into a turn - that's not fun fighting the non powered steering in a turn. Fires right back up with no issues however when just sitting there it can start to sputter then surge quite a bit like if I didn't have a good foot on the brakes it could lunge into the car in front of me. I've never had it stall at idle, just when coming to a stop. Lunge only when at idle (that I feel anyway).

I gapped at .44, I did one wire at a time so didn't cross and besides if I did would it even run at all?

What would make this new change happen?

over_head

Recruit