Initial order quantity of Cabosil, CS, and Bubbles question

rubberbelly

Seaman
Hey guys, my boat was at dry dock some years back, then I sent it to dry storage and well now I am getting back to it finally. I am getting ready to order cloth but I want to order some of the other basics as well. Since I am a newbie on the glassing, does the following see reasonable for a 16 ft basic boat getting new stringer floor and transom. My head is spinning as I have been reading so many posts and I forget to take notes. Aerosil-Cabosil 5qt 3M Glass Bubbles 5qt "1/4" Chopped Strand 4lbs, next size up is 10lbs Looking at 435 resin from USC but shipping is a huge hit to the wallet. Suggestions for Kansas City area supplier? Just bite the bullet? Was going for 5 gallons but I know I will go through that quickly.

ahmincha

Lieutenant Commander
Welcome rub my boat is 19' and I ordered 20 gal of 435 on my first order also used over 4 gals of cabosil mine is a center console so maybe it takes more. I think you will be better off making a big order in the beginning that will keep shipping cost down

rubberbelly

Seaman
Thanks. Was reading up on your thread last week... :) Here is a link to my original thread of restoration.

Rickmerrill

Senior Chief Petty Officer
Hi Rub, I had 20gal of resin, 35yds or so of 1708, 50yds or so of CSM, 10gal of foam, gelcoat and misc trucked to Memphis on a pallet. I picked it up at their loading dock. Shipping was $137 and you don't pay the extra $27 hazardous fees per 5 gallon pail. If you have a truck and order enough from USC this might work for you.

rubberbelly

Seaman