Finally had enough with gas prices, and my butt is sore...

JasonJ

Rear Admiral
So I was filling my highly fuel efficient 95 Ford F150 4x4 ex cab with 5.8 and after dropping 40-something bones and glaring at the $3.09 reg (it's now $3.16) a gallon price (the highest it has ever been here), I did some quick math. Even with my frugal and limited driving, I figured my weekly fuel expense to be around $50. Some may be spending more, and I feel for them, but right now it's about me.

Sooo, I started riding my bicycle to work. I have a Cannondale full suspension and I put skinnier street tires on it, and rode it to work this morning. It was 35 degrees, and it took about 25 minutes, not bad for as out of shape as I am. When it came time to come home, it was raining, cold, and blowing wind. It was a little slower going, and while I got a little wet, it was not unbearable. When I get back to my riding shape (I used to ride 30-50 miles a day and 100 miles each Saturday back in the day), I should be able to pare my commute time down to 15-20 minutes, which is what my drive time is in the summer (traffic is horrible, a bike just cruises right through).

The butt is sore, and it will be for a few days, but even if I cut my drive down to one or two days a week (I have to drive on Wednesdays to drop uniforms off unless I figure out a solution to that). I am seeing more bicycles on the road, and I hope it continues. If the industry is going to just raise prices and not even give us a good excuse anymore, then they will get less of my money.

Vlad D Impeller

Commander
Re: Finally had enough with gas prices, and my butt is sore...

There is always a good excuse for higher gas prices, the answer is not what many would like to hear. ;)

Bob_VT

Moderator & Unofficial iBoats Historian
Staff member

Great reaction to the high prices and healthy too. Congrats! Smart idea.

JasonJ

Rear Admiral