Building a swim platform

CascoBay

Petty Officer 2nd Class
I would like to build a swim platform for my 26' Larson Cabrio made from fiberglass. I toyed with the idea of a teak platform but I really feel that it will not go with the boat and upkeep will always be there. The platform will be 8' x 2.5'

So my plan is to:

-Sandwich a 1.5" foam core with 1/2" plywood to give an overall thickness of 2" +/-
-Use 4 struts to support the platform underneath.
-At the strut support locations eliminate the foam and use wood.
-Cover the platform with fiberglass cloth (type/weight/# of layers?)
-Sand/Fair/Prime/Paint
-Use Durabak to create a non-skid top section

Is my proposal a valid one? Any concerns with this type of construction?

I have never used foam as a media before- and I planned on using the "tuff-board" found at most home improvement stores (not the pink stuff).

I really appreciate any input on this, thank you.

Re: Building a swim platform

CB,

Doesn't sound too bad. Should be plently stiff and strong. The key thing is attaching it to the boat. You will need to through bolt the platform some how to back of the boat/transom. The attachment point of the platform will have to be beefy on the platform and well supported at the bolts. Your support struts will be okay going into wood. Keep us up to date on your progress.

CascoBay

Petty Officer 2nd Class

Thank you for the reply. I am not too concerned with the attachment to the boat, I plan to through bolt with 3/8" stainless hardware and use large aluminum backing plates at all locations.

I will take many photos as this progresses, I am still gathering info!

CB,

How do you plan to through bolt the sandwich of ply-foam-ply to the back of the boat?

CascoBay

Petty Officer 2nd Class

I plan to use 2" aluminum angle iron to form a ledge on the transom, through bolting this to the boat. This will form a shelf for the platform to sit on, I will screw or bolt at this junction.