Batteries and trim tabs - Questions on proper use

catalanc

Seaman Apprentice
I recently sold a bayliner 185 and purchased a trophy 2052. I am still new to boating and two issues have come up in the trophy.

First, there are two batteries rather than one. The manual says NEVER turn off the battery switch when the engine is running. SO - say i start the engine with battery 1 but then want to charge both while running. Can I quickly move the switch to "both" while the engine is running or do i need to kill the engine and re-start theengine with both selected (stupid question, i am sure!).

Next, the trim tabs. On my bayliner I learned how to trim the boat using the trim on the outdrive (i had a I/O). I have the same setup on the trophy - but now i have trim tabs as well. SO - what is the proper way to use the trim tabs vs. outdrive trim? (again, probably a stupid question).

Anyway, if any of you experienced folks out there can guide a newcomer, it would be most welcome.

carlos

rat65tol

Cadet
Re: Batteries and trim tabs - Questions on proper use

carlos. I have the dual battery setup on my 1902 wa trophy. I use the nbr 1 battery for starting and the nbr 2 battery for running electronics. You can switch back and forth between one and two while engine is running , just dont run through the off position while running. I have been told it will damage the alternator. As far as the trim tabs I am not sure. Have been trying to get input on them with no help so far.

good luck and enjoy your trophy I love mine
Ron

2007 1902wa Trophy
115 mercury 4 stroke
"Killer Nuts"

catalanc

Seaman Apprentice

thanks for the input, ron. hopefully i won't blow anything up! looking forward to nicer weather ...
carlos

throphy07

Cadet

Use trimtabs to level the boat if the boat is leaning towards starboard or port side on plane.
If boat is heavily loaded, adjust trimplan fully down in order to get on plane more quickly. Then release trimplan (Fully up)