65 starcraft

jplscrapie

Seaman
hello im a newbie im going to restore my 1965 starcraft runabout, but first how should i winterize my 1975 evinrude 50 before i take it off the transom? i have about 40 hrs on it since i owend it i plan on keeping it in my basement through the winter here in rhode island thanks ill post pics as i start the resto

Last edited:

Woodonglass

Supreme Mariner
Re: 65 starcraft

Welcome to iBoats!
This is the recommended method
[FONT=Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif]1.)Freshwater flush
Use a flushing attachment (muffs), or run the outboard in a tank filled with clean water.[/FONT]

[FONT=Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif]2.)Empty fuel lines and carburetors
While the engine is still running, disconnect the fuel line from the engine. When the engine dies, the fuel delivery components will be empty, preventing gums from forming in the stagnant gasoline and clogging lines and jets or injectors.[/FONT]

[FONT=Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif]3.)Fog the carburetor intake(s)
Before the engine runs out of fuel, spray fogging oil into the carburetor(s). Fogging oil is an anticorrosive that will protect the internal surfaces of the carburetor and the cylinders. Typically the engine will run rough just before it runs out of fuel. As that happens, give the carburetor(s) a heavier shot of fogging oil to make sure internal surfaces are fully coated.[/FONT]
[FONT=Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif][/FONT]
[FONT=Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif]4.)Drain cooling passages[/FONT] [FONT=Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif]Disconnect the flush attachment or remove the motor from the flush tank. With the motor upright, let all water drain out of the pick-up. Open drain plugs (if any--see your owner's manual) to empty the powerhead and intermediate housing. Crank the motor a couple of times by hand or "bump" it with the starter(Disconnect the plug wires) to empty the water pump. If the motor will be exposed to freezing conditions, it is essential that no water remains inside.[/FONT]