1969 Mark Twain 15' Tri-Hull 115 Evinrude - Partial Rebuild

tlzimmerman

Petty Officer 3rd Class
Hello everyone.

Going to try to catalog the rebuild of my 1969 Mark Twain I picked up last week for $300. It has a 1974 115 Evinrude "Starflite"(I hope...pretty sure its a 74...will be asking for help from the community on is one, ezmobee said he could tell the year by pics). First thing I did when I got it home was see if it would run....and surprisingly it fired with little issues after being in storage since 1998. Luckily it was winterized before. I only let it run for about 8-10 seconds with muffs, I was getting no water out of the back anywhere and I didn't want to overheat or score the engine.

I am a somewhat noob when it comes to boat repair, have only ever worked on my dads from time to time when very young, and haven't done that for 10 years since he bought a lund. I am an avid internet and forum user, so I found iboats quickly and man.....so glad I did. I researched for about 4 hours on here before I decided to go ahead and buy the boat. I am somewhat mechanical, and an avid do it yourselfer. This will be mostly my first time working with fiberglass, I do alot of home restoration so I am pretty good with wood. I think its going to be a pretty straightforward process.

I am a little ways into tearing down. All the seats are bad and gone, the floor is rotted in the back, and can't get to the front yet without cutting away part of the cap. The entire rebuild will be done outside, hope to borrow a garage for the glass work though. I am also planning on purchasing a cover once the boat is gutted. The boat will be stored outside during the summer, and hopefully under a lean two in the winter.