14' Sears Aluminum boat restore...(1969)?

DaveyHAZZ

Petty Officer 1st Class
I'm new to Iboats.com My name is David. I got this boat, trailer and motor as a Christmas present from my mom.

Looking to add:
Padded seats
Anti-slip floor
Bass Boat style deck up front
4 Fishing rod holders
and a few others..

This boat is heavily oxidized, but I found out that if I use steel wool pads it comes off, but not very easy. The boat has a lot of surface area. Looking to find a steel wool buffing pad if its possible..Or any suggestions... Will be fishing in Barnegat bay, NJ...

Don't know much about sears motors. If you guys know any info please help me out...

Thanks _D

ezmobee

Supreme Mariner
Re: 14' Sears Aluminum boat restore...(1969)?

I fixed your pictures links.

Looks like one of the older Sears boats that were made by Alumacraft. Great boats! My uncle has one of the Sears ones and my dad just got a Alumacraft that looks very similar to yours. We took it out on a test run on a ridiculously choppy day when we should have stayed home. It handled it really well for a small boat.

SeaKaye12

Lieutenant Junior Grade

Hiya David,

Sheesh you know your momma loves you when she gets you a boat for Christmas! Lucky You!

As for polishing that bad boy...nobody goes to greater lengths to polish aluminum than the folks who own vintage Airstream trailers. Here's one link to a site that talks about that:

http://globetrotter64.home.att.net/

You can google "airstream trailer polishing" and you'll have enough reading to keep you awake for weeks.

Once; on e-bay I saw a boat like yours for sale that had been all polished up. It was beautiful, but I'll warn you...it's a thankless job as the aluminum will quickly oxidize again.

As far as your motor goes...when it comes time for you to re-power, I'd suggest you go with a Johnson or Evinrude 9.9. They're awesome engines that will run forever if you take good came of them.

Have a lot of fun with your boat; always stay safe.

Chuck