1972 Grew SS245

Ezepeze

Cadet
Anyone have any information on these boats. Also known as a Slickcraft SS245 in the US. Wife bought at auction with trailer by mistake for $500. I’m new to boat ownership but somewhat mechanically inclined. TUFM-21C engine so 225hp Chevy with OMC Electric shift stringer outdrive. It’s winterized and covered so I’m just trying to gather as much information as possible over the winter to see if it’s worth diving into in the spring.

Scott Danforth

Grumpy Vintage Moderator still playing with boats
Staff member
Welcome a aboard

Issue with any older fiberglass boat is rot
Issue with OMC is they have been out of business for decades

Only you can answer if the boat is worth it to you

racerone

Supreme Mariner
Your location ?----Do a complete inspection of this boat before spending any beer tokens.------Perhaps it has water logged foam under the floor.-----It is nearly 50 years old and there could be many things wrong with it.

Ezepeze

Cadet
Bay of Quinte, Ontario, Canada. Have stripped everything out of the boat ie toilet, water tanks, etc. No spongy parts in floor or anywhere else and hull and transom seems sound. Always operated in fresh water. Looks like a lot of farmer fixes (no offence) to farmers. I operate a 72 year old Farmall Cub tractor and a 30 year old Massey Ferguson lawn tractor to mow my lawn with no issues. It goes to the landfill when it’s absolutely toast. Not planning on a restoration but would like to get it in the water running. Looking for a like minded individual who may be willing to offer some advice keeping a piece of history going without a ridiculous expense.
Thanks for your replies. Lots of questions coming in the future.

jbcurt00

Staff member
A 50yr old 24ft w rotted stringers & transom will take considerable effort, work, time & money....

For a boat that'd worth less then 1/2 the money you have in it, plus your time & labor free and any engine expense....

Ezepeze

Cadet