Going from surge brakes to no brakes

I recently bought an older 2005 boat with trailer. The trailer is a single axle with an A 60 Hydralic brake actuator for disc brakes.

1. the trailer clunks every time I take off.
2. The cap to the oil check is partially blocked by some part of the actuator. Guess it may be because I backed it up and parked it not letting it come forward? Not sure.
3. The wires were not installed professionally. They are hanging down in the back by the tail lights and wrapped willy nilly with tape. At the front under the actuator they have a male to female 5 pin splice that is shorting out and causing lights to not work, plus another flat male 5 pin that runs from that splice and goes to the tow vehicle.

I want to rewire the whole trailer but I want to get real opinions on keeping the hydraulic system for the disc breaks or removing the system all together.

IF I do remove the system do I need to do anything with trailer axles and disc brakes?
I am a bit of a newby so If I sound like I don't know what I am talking about.... Your assessment would be correct.

Boat is roughly 19' long and weighs slightly over 2000#. Trailer is a Tennessee single axle
Tow vehicle is a 2016 Ford F150 XLT with towing package (incl. brake controller)

Thank you in advance

Lou C

Supreme Mariner
Removing them is dangerous I bet your tow vehicle is not able to stop the weight of the fully loaded trailer. Learn how to make surge brakes work (very simple) & maintain them. I tried towing my boat with no trailer brakes (5050 lbs) just once. There was no way that 98 Jeep was up to stopping a combined load of 9500 lbs!
Added surge brakes & it stopped just fine. Last upgrade was from 10” to 12” brakes.

Last edited:

matt167

Captain
Federal limit for trailers without brakes is 3,500 lbs. You will be right on that full of gas and equipment.. If you have a controller. go electric with 5 pin wiring