Tahoe Q6sport versus Q7i

BamaAlum97

Petty Officer 2nd Class
I am a bit of a newbie...not completely green, but still taking baby steps...

I am looking into buying a 2008 Tahoe. The Q6 and the Q7 are pretty much the same size and have the same engine options. I know the Q7 has some standard equipment on it, that is considered an option on the Q6, but I am not sure I see where the additional $5K in price comes from...

Does anyone have any insight into these two models? Is the Q7 worth the extra investment?

Ret USN CPO

Petty Officer 2nd Class
Re: Tahoe Q6sport versus Q7i

I'm the same as you, I really couldn't find that much difference to warrant going up to the Q7. I am going to stick with the Q6 but am going to go with the 220HP V6. I talked to a guy a couple of days ago who has a 190HP V6 and said he loves it. I asked if wished he had gone with a bigger engine, and he said that he really didn't think he needed any more speed. He said he gets up to 50 mph and has no trouble pulling skiers.

Hashi

Chief Petty Officer

The only difference I saw with Q7i was that you got a wood grain console, bow ladder and anchor storage, better color options, larger ski locker and door, stainless steel prop, bow mounted nav. lights and rails. The only thing I don't like that maybe a design flaw is the rear bench seat does not flip all the way open because of the back rest. The two cushions prevent full opening and you have to hold the bench seat up with one hand to get to the storage compartment.

lrdchaos

Petty Officer 1st Class

I agree with the statement above...that bench seat is a pain in the the butt, when you are trying to get more than one drink out of the cooler. I personally found a great deal on my q7 that's why I picked it up instead of a q6. But reguardless, if you can swing it...go with the 5.0 mpi. It's a beast, even loaded down with max weight.

BamaAlum97

Petty Officer 2nd Class