How to convert 7.5 hp to 9.8 - vroom vroom

Status
Not open for further replies.

gomofast

Cadet
I have an '81 7.5 merc. How can I convert it to the output of the 9.8? I've heard you can swap the carb or perhaps re-jet the carb, but I haven't gotten a definitive answer. Has anybody done this?

BTW, I'm a noob on here, so go easy on me!

green4themoney

Petty Officer 1st Class
Re: Convert 7.5 hp to 9.8 - vroom vroom

to switch carbs will only make it run a little richer...... technically speaking it cant be done unless you find a 9.8 engine block and switch it into the body, i dont know why you would want to tho they are close enough in speed/ horsepower

gomofast

Cadet

to switch carbs will only make it run a little richer...... technically speaking it cant be done unless you find a 9.8 engine block and switch it into the body, i dont know why you would want to tho they are close enough in speed/ horsepower

Oh really? I thought the blocks were the same.

I have a 14 foot meyers aluminum boat and the motor just barely gets it up on plane, and it's kinda hard to maintain. I just need a little extra ooomph ya know? But the small local lake that I put it on has a 7.5 hp max, so I can't go to a bigger engine. I was hoping to just upgrade mine a bit.

Fuzzytbay

Chief Petty Officer
Re: How to convert 7.5 hp to 9.8 - vroom vroom

Get the parts manuals for both motors, then see what parts you need to upgrade it, if its possible.

green4themoney

Petty Officer 1st Class

we had a discussion on this before try the search function. .... there are not 2 many differences but there are some that beef up the 9.8 a little higher then the 7.5 but there is more to it then just a slightly bigger carb

green4themoney

Petty Officer 1st Class