3.0L to 4.3L mtr mounts and 25 yo transom

Rick Stephens

Admiral
Howdy everyone. I am new to the boat modding side of the forum, and new to fiberglassing things like motor mounts into my boat.

Here's the story: I have a 25 year old runabout that I lucked out when I bought, since I didn't know squat about how to prepurchase exam a boat. At least I lake tested it :^) And I did end up buying an SEI outdrive for it by the second year. Took me that long to come to the conclusion that the original one was not quite what the seller led me to believe.

Here I am several years later having made a choice - rebuild the 3.0L that is getting tired, or drop in the 4.3L and Alpha1 Gen2 outdrive that I bought in a donor boat for a project boat that never came to be. I choose the later as it is hard, like most boaters, to pass up popping in almost 100 more HP.

I have some needful questions for those with experience in this. While I have built or repaired all sorts of things with fiberglass, I haven't built motor mounts nor reconditioned a 25 yo transom to handle a jump from 130 to 225 HP. I have somewhat a plan, but would surely accept adjustments where deemed an improvement.