Truck Mileage

bigmarc66

Seaman
Hey guys, within the next few months im going to be shopping around for an older pickup truck. Im a college student looking for something to tow the boat. My question is how many miles do trucks usually get. Is buying a truck with 130,000 miles pointless. Or will most trucks have a long way to go at lets say 140-150. I dont have a lot to spend so im gonna have to get the most bang for my buck. Just wondering if anybody had any experience, or one brand over the next. Thanks

wildmaninal

Lieutenant Commander
Re: Truck Mileage

My uncle has a 1990 Dodge Ram diesel that has 300,000 miles on it, he bought another Dodge Ram a year newer and still drives the 90 model and it is still going strong. He tows his 855 John Deere behind it and with box blade and other equipment.

It all depends on how the owner takes care of the truck, if he had the oil changed regularly etc etc. I had a 1978 GMC 3/4 ton with a 292 straight six cylinder, I wished I had never got rid of that truck, it had well over 200,000 miles on it. I traded it off and the new owner ended up going trail riding in it and the truck caught on fire and burnt to a crisp. Some of those trucks can last a long long time.

D

DJ

100, 150 or 200K+ all depends on the maintenance.

I've had some over 200K (on gas engines) and I've never had an engine or transmission fail.

arks

Lieutenant Commander

Yup, I'm with DJ- maintenance is everything. Look for a truck with a complete maintenance log (parts and repair reciepts). Even if you buy "certified pre-owned", it might be very hard to find.
OTOH, I have each and every reciept from my 7 year old truck with 261,000 miles on the clock. And yes, it has the original engine and tranny, never rebuilt. My new truck is arriving next week and this ones going to be used to plow snow and haul materials for my construction company. It's a 2001 Ford F250 4x4 with the 5.4 gas engine and automatic. The new one's also a F250...

qaztwo