Title question Illinois

Fry300

Seaman Apprentice
I found a boat in Wisconsin that I would like to restore. Its a 1957 whitehouse with a 1957 Johnson 35hp Javelin. It's in pretty good shape, but I'm so confused as to how to get the paper work in order. I don't want to drop cash on this get it to Illinois and not be able to register it. It's a Wisconsin boat so odds are it has never been issued a title for the boat or trailer. Would I be set leaving with a bill of sale for both trailer and boat? What other things do I have to take into consideration? I'm new to this so any and all advice you guys might have will be GREATLY appreciated.

flamingo1227

Cadet
Re: Title question Illinois

Here was a thread about titling boats in IL from a few days ago. I bought my boat and trailer from WI 2 years ago but through a dealer. The boat had a title, but the dealer titled the trailer as homemade in IL since WI doesn't require trailers be titled. However someone in the thread below stated that this may have changed. Good luck.

http://forums.iboats.com/showthread.php?t=444391&highlight=title+illinois

Fry300

Seaman Apprentice

Basically what I got out of that was if its out of my state don't buy it? It's a really nice boat with a REALLY nice old outboard on it. It's everything that I've been looking for. I guess I'll TRY calling the DNR monday...see what they say about the boat. As far as the trailer goes its a Wisconsin trailer (Wisconsin doesn't require titles) so it has no title...the most I can get is a bill of sale. Is this going to be worth the trouble on my part?

cturboaddict

Petty Officer 1st Class

That was me that posted.....

Here is what I know youll have to do at this moment...... HOPE IT HELPS.
You can leave with the boat and trailer and end up having it titled here~~ IF you have him sign two things as far as i know right now...
1-Power of attorney form (can get it on DNR's site)