This should be an easy one for somebody - Evinrude 175 Steering Arm Question

Ichthyus

Cadet
Hi! I have an Evinrude Intruder 175 (GLERA) 1994. I need to pull the powerhead to change the gasket between the powerhead and the Exhaust section - the gasket is blowing water.

I cannot figure out whether the steering arm bolts to the powerhead or to the Mid (exhaust) section! My manual (Clymer) makes no mention of it in the instructions to pull the powerhead. And it seems like if it were attached to the powerhead I would bend the heck out of it lifting the powerhead off.

Has anyone a clue to offer me? I'm an OK mechanic but I've never done an outboard. Thanks! Mac in Annapolis

Ichthyus

Cadet
THANKS! So...it's bolted to the exhaust and I can pull the powerhead off without messing with the steering arm at all???

flyingscott

Fleet Admiral
delete sorry about that I forgot that motor does have them in the powerhead I was thinking of a crossflow V4 for some reason.

Last edited:

Faztbullet

Supreme Mariner
HOLD UP....Yes the steering arm mounts to powerhead as motor mounts are in powerhead base. When reinstalling torque the 2 bolts to 100ft lbs,want 20-30 minutes and retorque again.

Last edited:

Ichthyus

Cadet
Ok, I'm just a little confused now...please bear with me. If the steering arm is bolted to the powerhead, won't the whole engine roll around on the lower mounts if I pull the steering arm bolts? Or do I need to support it first??? ANd why does the manual make no mention of the steering arm in the instructions for pulling the powerhead?

flyingscott

Fleet Admiral
Yes you will need to support it Clymer does not mention a lot of things not the best manual for you Factory is best.

Faztbullet

Supreme Mariner
Clymer manuals are best for reading on toilet and then using pages to wipe. Trim the motor down with skag on piece of lumber and remove the to upper bolts, if you don't it will lean back adding pressure to lower mounts and bend the shift shaft rod slightly.....