Tackle boxes

BWR1953

Vice Admiral
My "new" tackle box (less than 5 years old) broke badly enough a month ago that I ended up trashing it and pulled out my old standby, which I've owned for something like 35 years. Both boxes are general purpose types and are large, although the old one is huge compared to the newer one.

The issue that I have is two-fold.
  • limited space on the boat, so I don't want a whole bunch of boxes or even one large box like I'm having to use now.
  • I like a variety of baits on hand, plus supplemental gear.
I'd thought about getting smaller, soft-sided tackle bags, maybe having a crankbait box, a soft bait box, a supplies box, etc., but I'm just not sure. I have no experience at all with the soft cases.

Thoughts and ideas please! :)

topgun3690

Ensign
The main reason I didn't buy the soft case gear was "water".....most are water resistant, not water proof. So if they get wet, which they will if you don't have dry storage on your boat, then you will have to thoroughly dry them out before putting away, or you can imagine the mold that would form.

BWR1953

Vice Admiral
The main reason I didn't buy the soft case gear was "water".....most are water resistant, not water proof. So if they get wet, which they will if you don't have dry storage on your boat, then you will have to thoroughly dry them out before putting away, or you can imagine the mold that would form.
Hey, thanks for that info. I'd not considered the boxes getting wet. Mind you, when we're out fishing, the boxes typically don't get splashed and we don't fish in the rain. But it is something to consider. :unsure:

Like the time 30 years ago when I accidentally kicked an open hip-roof type box overboard. 😧

dingbat

Supreme Mariner
I carried 3 boxes for a number of years. Boat, Beach and Travel for years.

Got tired of not having everything at my disposal. Not to mention leaving the travel box at home when fishing a tournament not once, but twice....lol