Surge Brakes Leaking

RL Gman

Petty Officer 2nd Class
My first question posted on the iBoats forums. I have spent much time on these forums, to which I must thank all of the experts for their comments. However, it is time to ask a question that I haven't seen answered (if it has, just point me to the thread!).

Specs: I just bought a 2005 Monterey 214 FS ~ 4500-4700 lbs with a 2005 tandem Road King trailer ~ 1000 lbs with surge disk brakes. Pretty solid load overall. The entire rig looks brand new, but I am having a leak from the actuator.

Commentary: I am by no means new to boating or trailering, however I am very new to trailering with breaks (most of my previous boats trailer/cargo's have been light. Eg < 3000 lbs.

When I bought the boat with the trailer, I pulled it off the lot and realized there was a lot of "clunking". After getting it home and reading the trailer manual, realized the brake fluid was low. Turns out, there was no (read "completely empty") fluid in the reservoir. I filled the reservoir and actuated the break mechanism for a while to ensure fluid was reaching the breaks and to ensure no leaks. I checked all of the lines and the breaks themselves with no visible leaks.

I took the boat out for the first test drive (this past weekend) and as I was towing, the jerking and clunking was gone. Basically, the breaks actually felt like they were doing something. Here is where the issue started.

When I backed it to the ramp, and the boat was sitting on the slope (pulling away from the tow vehicle) as I was preparing to launch, I noticed the DOT 3 fluid was dripping very fast from the actuator. Basically it leaked completely empty in the 15 minutes the boat was on the ramp (or being backed to the ramp) and gravity was pulling away from the tow vehicle.