Suggestions on how to proceed replacing stringer

brewern

Cadet
Due to a job change, I no longer have access to my old email, so I can't reset my old password on my regular account on here. So, this is actually "brewern":
http://forums.iboats.com/member/338314-brewern

Ok, so, you can read about our 1986 Chapperal here:
http://forums.iboats.com/forum/gene...614005-which-boat-should-we-buy-advice-please

And last summer, we realized the floor was, in fact, squishy. Uggg. Ok, it is what it is, time to rip up the floor. I've never done it before, but like so many others, I've found plenty of tutorials here, and I have a friend that specializes in fiberglass work, so he'll be able to guide me as well.

As you will see in the attached pictures, I've removed the foam from a lot of the floor, and now I'm contemplating my next step. Should I remove the top off the boat? That's heading down a road I wanted to avoid. Or is there some other route I could take? The 1 stringer is rotten, and the fiberglass is delaminated from it. But, I can't easily get all the way to the front of the stringer. Or, if I did just cut an access hole up through the middle of the bow, how would I put plywood back down and make it sturdy? Perhaps some new cross stringers? But, definitely, not removing the cap would be preferable!

For the stern, I've already worked out how to make those repairs... for the most part. Unless find out the transom is rotten. Then, I see no option except to remove the cap.
10410792_10206039719417772_8468521074692006630_n.jpg 10375138_10206039925102914_1182363112403563077_n.jpg 10922495_10206039696817207_4871810152131631945_n.jpg
Take a look at the pictures and let me know if you have any questions. Thanks!

brewern

Cadet