Stringer question and opinions on it pls....

blkvyyper

Seaman
Hello to all on the forum,
I'm new to all this and i have read and reviewed a lot of good threads and admire all of the experts on this forum. My question is this... I noticed that the stringers are installed and then glassed over. Is there a reason why the stringers aren't totally glassed first and then installed? Seems it would be a stronger bond (glass to glass) to the hull versus just having the sides and tops of the stringers glassed...just something i was thinking about...all opinions are welcome.

thanks...
blkvyyper

produceguy

Lieutenant Junior Grade
Re: Stringer question and opinions on it pls....

I would think you would still need to tab in the stringers even if you encased them first. This would give it more stability than just glsing the bottom of the stringer to the hull.

blkvyyper

Seaman

thanks produceguy for the reply, i left out the tabbing part, i assumed people would understand that needed to be done. my question i guess is more toward waterproofing. it just seems no one totally encases the stringers before they install them.

blkvyyper

ondarvr

Supreme Mariner

If done correctly the two methods would be about equal in waterproofness.

Pre wraping only puts glass in one area that isn't covered by putting them in naked and covering them, and that's on the very bottom.
If you set them in putty or a bedding compound then this area would be covered, but maybe not as well. Resin coating the bottom well would help.

The main reason for failure is unsealed holes, uncovered wood, or just sloppy workmanship.

Wrapping them first requires much more work, so is rarely done.

Woodonglass

Supreme Mariner

Well BV, That's exactly what I do. I put the first coat of resin and CSM on the stringers outside the boat layin on sawhorses. When dry, I place and tab them in with another layer of CSM and then One or Two layers of 1708. Here's a drawing of how I do it.

Click the Pic To Enlarge