Stainless Steel Cookware

SoulWinner

Commander
How many of you use SS cookware? What are your observasions? I have been using SS for a couple years now and I have some gripes. For one, they get really hot, hotter than non-stick aluminum I think. And so stuff sticks to them. It is dang hard to cook some things in SS pots and pans without burning it to the bottom. What is the answer? Cook at lower temps? I can't coat chicken with breading and fry it in my SS pan without it sticking, so I have a deep fryer, but still, I must be doing something wrong. Any suggestions??

Drowned Rat

Captain
Re: Stainless Steel Cookware

Hi there SW. SS cookware looks pretty, but is a poor conductor of heat and does not dispense the heat efficiently. Therefore it gets really hot and cooks unevenly. Alluminum is the metal of choice for cookware as it is an excellent conductor of heat and it distibutes that heat evenly over the whole pan, pot, etc... That's why you can grab a sheet of alluminum foil out of the oven without it burning you. I'm sorry I don't have any suggestions on how to make SS cook better.

POINTER94

Vice Admiral

Grew up with Revere Ware. Any potato or onion or meat would create a crust that took steel scrubbing pads to remove. Spent a majority of my childhood after 5 on weeknights cleaning those things.<br /><br />I really like the anodized aluminum Calphalon Set I now have. Cleans up with a sponge and soap, fairly evenly dispersed heat, and fairly durable. My set is about 5-6 years old and work like the day I took them out of the package. Just my experience

PatPatterson

Chief Petty Officer

We bought a beautiful set of Stainless Steel pots and pans a couple of years back. About $400.00. We found out the same thing. They just aren't very good. They are pretty, though.<br /><br />The only thing we use them for is boiling pasta or making stews. Stuff that don't stick too bad.

SoulWinner

Commander