sanding/grinding help

travish

Cadet
I am doing some glass work to my boat. I have realized that the sanding is no fun.
Below is a link that shows (I hope) the kind of sander that I am using. There has got to be something faster. What are you guys using? I have 40 Grit paper but it is still slow.

2vjq4ba.jpg

thanks
Travis

rickryder

Commander
Re: sanding/grinding help

Ya need a 4" angle grinder and 36 grit wheels.

bLaZe0023

Cadet

orbitalsander_dewalt.jpgI have a Dewalt 5" random orbital sander and it its heaven sent! I'm not an expert but I think i've read somewhere that using a belt sander its kind of bad on fiberglass hulls... I'm sure someone will correct me if i'm wrong.

oops!

Supreme Mariner

pitch the belt sander.

for raw fiberglass work and all demolition......grinder with a rubber backing pad. (this is called a flapper in some areas, not to be confused with a flap disc grinding sandpaper wheel)

over the rubber backing pad,,,,use 24 grit resin backed pads......they are pricy....but will chew thru your glass like butter.

read safety basics of grinding and glassing in the sticky on the top of this page....dont muck around with the safety part.....its the most important thing.

finishing raw glass and buffing.....a 7 inch vari speed sander polisher with a 8 inch foam pad.
grits any where from 80 to 600....for polishing...a mop and foamy.

for standard gellcoat sanding and finishing work.....4 inch oribital sander. i use a 6 inch foam pad on top of that....the grit is any from 80 to 2000.

travish

Cadet

thanks guys, I will make a trip to lowes tomorrow.

Opps, I figured out today that a regular saftey glasses are not good for fiberglass dust when it is windy out side.

Travis

oops!

Supreme Mariner

yea...the glass dust gets in your eyes.....one hit with a mian spray of a grinder and you are really in trouble. you can do it on the cheap with goggles...
but the face resperator is the main thing bud.....and a tyvec (at minimum ) suit.