Resin Question

My step father has given me his old 1965 14' Glaspar boat which he has owned the last 15 yrs. I believe from my research it is a Marathon model. Title does not say. It just says Glaspar. The motor looks to be original, at least from the limited amount of photos and Glaspar information I have found. Mainly on Fiberglassics web page. The motor still runs like a champ. The floor needs gutted and replaced along with the transom. My question on this thread is about the resin to use for this and the stringers. I have not gotten the floor out as of yet as I want to know more of the process before I jump in head first. I'm new to the fiberglass world but am a fast learner and good with projects. It seems to me the amount of work to be done on this boat will be worth it. The hull is in good shape. Just needs a bit of TLC inside and its ready to float.

I have been researching what resin to use and have come up with a question that seems contradicting to me. Poly and Epoxy are not compatible togethern from what I've learned. As much as I've read, my boat was constructed with Poly resin and 90% of the boats out there. (Please correct me if I am wrong, I do not presume to know this exactly) What I have been reading and seeing is epoxy is the way to go because its strength and waterproofing characteristics. To some people it seems they turn their nose up at the thought of using poly instead of epoxy. But, in the same paragraph say you can't use poly and epoxy together.....

Question presented here... if my boat is Poly resin, how is it possible to use epoxy as the resin??? Is there an extra bonding agent you have to use?