Only 2 gallons of AF?

pec2402

Seaman Apprentice
After draining the block, i hooked up the muffs and ran antifreeze through the outdrive. However, after only 2 gallons, the AF was already flowing out? I was under the impression i needed between 4 and 5 gallons?

I checked the engine and no leaks (initially, i thought i may not have tightened the brass plugs on the block...not the case). There were no leaks or AF in the bilge.

This is my first attempt at this step and i feel like i'm missing something...any help? Thanks in advance.

Lyle29464

Lieutenant
Re: Only 2 gallons of AF?

Your engine by-passes most all "sea water" untill the thermostat opens then just part of it.

Bt Doctur

Supreme Mariner

what your missing is the fact that water must circ thru the exaust system no matter if the therm is open or closed.much better to flush and fog the motor first, remove plugs and drain motor /manifolds/risers/power steering cooler/ cool fuel. Then just pour the A/F in thru the hoses.

pec2402

Seaman Apprentice

Makes sense. So at this point, no AF has circulated through the engine, and hence, i'm still at risk if there is any water left over from before?

Bluestream

Petty Officer 1st Class

Makes sense. So at this point, no AF has circulated through the engine, and hence, i'm still at risk if there is any water left over from before?

How could there be water left from before if you drained the block and mainfolds?

pec2402

Seaman Apprentice

Just being overcautious (first boat). But i didn't remove any hoses, etc. when i drained the engine.

Bt Doctur

Supreme Mariner

Only if you remove the plugs and nothing comes out due to a blockage and you ASSume it drained without poking something in the hole to be sure.

pec2402

Seaman Apprentice

Only if you remove the plugs and nothing comes out due to a blockage and you ASSume it drained without poking something in the hole to be sure.

I used a piece of wire hanger to ensure there was no blockage.