oil change

fastempo

Seaman Apprentice
I am new to this. Just bought 1973, 140hp mercruiser I/O.
How do I change oil without spilling it all inside bilge, with crank-case drain plug so close to bottom of boat. there is no room to place drain bucket under?

HT32BSX115

Supreme Mariner
Re: oil change

Howdy,

Youtube is your friend!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Bvv7b6jtJwY

This person has a drain hose connected to the pan drain. (like I do)

Most pumps come with fittings that will either connect to your dipstick tube or a plastic tube that will go into the dipstick tube to suck it out.

Cheers,

Rick

Jeepster04

Chief Petty Officer

I am new to this. Just bought 1973, 140hp mercruiser I/O.
How do I change oil without spilling it all inside bilge, with crank-case drain plug so close to bottom of boat. there is no room to place drain bucket under?

Buy an oil extractor and suck it out of the dip stick tube.. Do a search on it..

90stingray

Lieutenant Junior Grade

Here's my idea that i use...use a big ziplock bag to catch the oil. Once it's drained, you can manipulate the bag to get it out of the bilge. Then you are done. Use another to catch the oil filter. I like draining from the oilpan the best... i think it gets the most impurities out this way. Goodluck!

ziggy

Admiral

I like draining from the oilpan the best
some folks don't have that option..

IMG_5056-1.jpg

like me. ya can't even get my drain plug out of the pan w/o raising the ft. of the engine...

i use one of the vacuum extractors down the dip stick tube like seen in that vid by HT32BSX115.. i don't have the screw threads at the top of my dip stick tube so i use the plastic tube down the dip stick tube.
the fluid extractors are very clean too. i didn't spill one drop during my fall oil change..

90stingray

Lieutenant Junior Grade