Noob - Project on my hands

Hi everyone, I'm Nate, 25 from Ontario Canada. This is my first boat, a 13' fiberglass with 1966 Chrysler 50HP O/B. I've been cruising the forum for a few days and it seems like a great place, have already learned a lot.

This boat needs a lot of work. Some may say it's not worth it. It's probably not. I got the boat motor and trailer for $150 though. And I enjoy projects to keep me busy. I haven't done much fiberglass but I'm pretty handy (finish carpenter by trade) and enjoy 'projects' and fixing things.

So I put the boat in the water once and it doesn't seem to have any leaks. The motor starts and runs great. But it needs a new deck and probably new transom (it's still fairly solid, but I believe it's got some rot in it, at least near the top. Today I ripped out most of the deck in it. Somebody had covered the original rotted deck with a layer of tar paper (lol) and 1/4" plywood, not sealed or painted or anything, then carpet.

Anyway I'll post pics of where it's at. Next will be to finish removing the deck, replace the single stringer, replace transom and build new deck. Probably go with paint instead of carpet as the old carpet was musty and gross. This boat will be set up for fishing. After restructuring is completed the hull and cap will receive filler (lots of screwholes in the cap) get sanded and painted (probably just Tremclad - Rustoleum in US).

Any comments and concerns are welcome.. I know the boat is a pile and probably not worth it.. but I want to learn how to do this anyway. I'll probably have lots of questions but I do know how to use the 'search' feature as well. Haha.

When I got it

http://i550.photobucket.com/albums/ii430/NATEFX407/Boat/Picture1410.jpg

Now

http://i550.photobucket.com/albums/ii430/NATEFX407/Boat/Picture1413.jpg

http://i550.photobucket.com/albums/ii430/NATEFX407/Boat/Picture1415.jpg

http://i550.photobucket.com/albums/ii430/NATEFX407/Boat/Picture1417.jpg