New to boating

finx

Petty Officer 2nd Class
Hi all, I've been lurking this forum and learning for a while but just now got to posting. I just received my first boat. It's a 19' i/o drive trihull 1971 thunderbird 190.

The fiberglass hull and everything sees to be in good working order. Im very new to boating and I have been doing tons of research. I have a few questions,

Before I take it on the water I want to inspect the stringers. the previous owner told me that everything inside the hull was fine but I want to take a look. This boat and trailer was basically given to me by my neighbor because its been sitting for a decade so. I want to make sure its sea worthy.

Is there a way to get under there and look without removing the flooring?

What are the repercussions of going on a lake with bad stringers and/or a rotten transom?

Thanks!

tpenfield

Staff member
Re: New to boating

First of all welcome to iBoats; lots of informations here.

Just being a little 'dark' for a moment . . if the boat has been sitting for a decade or so, and of that age, then there may be rot in the structure. Start by checking the floor and in the engine compartment. Use a screw driver or ice pick and see if you can poke into anything.

If the floor is soft, then there is probably rot below. If the hull had standing water in it, then there is probably rot below.

The ramifications of using a boat with a rotted structure or transom is failure of the hull and sinking of the boat. So, have your PFD's on and keep your valuables ashore.

oops!

Supreme Mariner

hi....again...welcome to iboats.

the only way to inspect the hull for waterlogging with out ripping the deck is to use a moisture meter.
not the kind you stick in wood....but the kind that a home inspector uses looking for rot behind a wall.

without one.....its really hard to tell.....sometimes there is signs....sometimes there isnt.