New project... 1960 Supercraft 14'

55'Fleetwin7.5

Petty Officer 1st Class
What was I thinking... some guy had started and ran out of elbow grease... Now it is in MY garage! I have NEVER done this before... what was I thinking?

the hull seems ok... the bottom has been fiberglassed ( the keel strip is a bit ragged.. I guess I will go over it with some more fiberglass and resin. The upper deck has been sanded down... there are some damaged areas, small stained areas... I am thinking about replacing with new ply... any thoughts on doing this without a second mortgage? the sides of the hull are raw now... what is the best way to paint it? do I need to seal it with something first? I am such a newbie... Sorry! There are two hand rails... look mahogany. both are damaged. Can I buy stock and use the old ones as templates? again what is economically best source? The indshield is intact but had some deep scratches... I used a very fine wet sand paper to get one down... then plastic polish... seems to be getting better... any tips on that? the rear seat cushion had some mold on the bottom (top is vinyl, bottom is white fabric) any tips on cleaning it? some of the mold got to the foam... I have a steam cleaner... would that help?

I thank you in advance for your help... I really want to save this little boat if I can. I restored a 1957 35hp Lark... They are meant for eachother.

Thanks,

Tom

Attachments

• 1960 runabout small.JPG
    1960 runabout small.JPG
    42.4 KB · Views: 0

CheapboatKev

Vice Admiral
Re: New project... 1960 Supercraft 14'

Welcome aboard!
By using the search tool up on the toolbar you'll find lost of info..kinda like "google" but here on iboats!

How about some pics, we all love drooling over somebody else's headache...I mean project!

Mark42

Fleet Admiral

Holy Cow! What a find! Thats one collectible boat. And the original trailer really adds to the package.