need help finding good size motor for my boat

cameronhanny

Cadet
hey, im new to this stuff, bought my first boat a few days ago. 1981 glassmate 15 footer. came with a 25hp motor, I didn't see where it said the max hp motor sign is but haven't really had time to look at it much due to the weather. if anyone knows about what the max hp or recommended hp motor is please help me out. thanks in advance. im sure I will have more questions in the future.

southkogs

Staff member
Re: need help finding good size motor for my boat

I think they used to make 'em over in/near East Tennessee. Open fishing boat or do you have a runabout boat? Got pictures?

Welcome aboard.

southkogs

Staff member

Tri-hull fiberglass? Glassmate in TN made a bunch of those, and at 15' I'd guess you're slightly underpowered but not by much.

Like I said, post some photos up.

cameronhanny

Cadet

It is a single v. I am about to post some pics of it.

jbjennings

Captain

I wonder why it has a 25hp on it? I'd check into the strength of that transom very soon! I'd think a 60hp would be about right. I don't think a 25hp would plane that boat. It may weight less than I think......
JBJ

cameronhanny

Cadet

The guy I got it from was an older man that only used it for fishing, which is what I'm going to be doing, but I still want a bigger motor. He said it would push the boat but you couldn't run it full throttle because it was to small for the boat and it would burn the motor up. What is a good brand of motor to get if I'm looking for a 60hp?

Silly Seville

Senior Chief Petty Officer

I had a 16 foot boat almost exactly like that...I believe it was rated for a 90. I'm guessing that your 15' would be a 75hp.

Last edited:

southkogs

Staff member

… Oh yeah. You're all kinds of underpowered. Not the boat I was thinking it was. Seville's gotcha' going in a good direction.

jbjennings

Captain