Looking to make my first boat purchase!

jermaine

Seaman Apprentice
What should I stay away from and what should I look for? I'm new to the boat scene and spend every free moments on this forum or looking for a boat. Looking for something I can take my kids (4) and my wife out on do some tubing and cruising. We currently live on Ft. Campbell and will spend most of our time on Ky Lake. My budget is $4000 -$5000. Thank in advance for your help.

southkogs

Staff member
Re: Looking to make my first boat purchase!

Welcome aboard Jermaine:

First boat ever? How old are the kiddos?

If they're younger you can start off with a smaller boat, but if they're hittin' their teens it's probably better to get into a 20 footer. IMHO - between 20' and 24' there's a significant difference. Tougher to tow, launch, recover and maneuver in tight spaces.

Brand doesn't mean quite as much in used boats ... go for condition.

Something like THIS ad is worth looking into. Price is in your ballpark, boat looks well kept, and is in a garage. Might be a good starter boat.

Have y'all tried renting anything for a day to see if you like it? You can do that down here in Nashville pretty easy.

tazrig

Lieutenant Commander

What should I stay away from and what should I look for? I'm new to the boat scene and spend every free moments on this forum or looking for a boat. Looking for something I can take my kids (4) and my wife out on do some tubing and cruising. We currently live on Ft. Campbell and will spend most of our time on Ky Lake. My budget is $4000 -$5000. Thank in advance for your help.

Welcome aboard! Check out this recent thread.

http://forums.iboats.com/boat-topic.../decision-points-used-family-boat-589111.html