Just brought my first boat home!

ryan71383

Cadet
Hey guys, I am a complete rookie to boats. I just brought home a 15' Rinkerbuilt fiberglass speedboat with a 100hp OB. I was wondering if anyone could help me figure out the year. On the registration under HIN all it has is 27368. It was dark last night so I wasn't able to find anything on the boat itself. The plan is to completely gut the interior and start from scratch. It should be interesting. Thanks for your time. Can't seem to get pics small enough to attach.

ryan71383

Cadet
Re: Just brought my first boat home!

Here's some pics.

Attachments

• camera-256.jpg
    camera-256.jpg
    9 KB · Views: 0
  • camera-257.jpg
    camera-257.jpg
    36.5 KB · Views: 0
  • camera-258.jpg
    camera-258.jpg
    28.1 KB · Views: 0
  • camera-260.jpg
    camera-260.jpg
    34.9 KB · Views: 0
  • camera-261.jpg
    camera-261.jpg
    28.8 KB · Views: 0

INJUN

Petty Officer 1st Class

The last 2 numbers are the year built.

Nice boat. It reminds me of my first one, but all I had to do was major cleaning, some paint and add motor.

ezmobee

Supreme Mariner

Well it will certainly need a complete refit wood-wise but it's a nice looking hull. Does the motor run? If so, that's going to be great power for that boat. My uncle had a Rinkerbuilt from '78-'95 and it was a great boat.

ryan71383

Cadet

Thanks guys. Ezmobe- I believe after a good going through the motor will be fine, a buddy took a look at it and thinks the same but we'll see. Hopefully I can get it gutted this weekend and see where to get started. Does any know where to look on the motor to find the year on it? Thanks again for the info.

Johnny Too Bad

Petty Officer 2nd Class

Congrats and welcome to iboats. I started a resto project about a month ago, and the guys on these boards are a wealth of knowledge. You have some work ahead of you, but it should be a great experience. Best of luck and I look forward to watching your progress.