Hydrofoil for Inflatable Seamax 430

SEAMAX 430

Cadet
I have always had a very significant problem with excessive prop ventilation on my Seamax 430 inflatable. I am running a 20HP Honda and it seems that it is impossible to get the boat into any kind of nose high attitude even at start. When attempting to trim for a nose high attitude the prop immediately ventilates, leaves the water and the boat comes to a stop. In order to operate the boat, it must be trimmed pretty much all the way in continually. I am new to inflatables and am wondering if anyone else is familiar with this situation. Might a hydrofoil like a Doel-fin or similar be of help. Any help gratefully appreciated. Thanks!

JimS123

Fleet Admiral
I am an advocate of the DoelFin, having used them successfully on every boat owned since 1984. That said, I never owned an inflatable. My gut feeling is that it would be of no help, possibly even make the problem worse.

Post a picture of the motor height vs. the keel.

SEAMAX 430

Cadet
I am an advocate of the DoelFin, having used them successfully on every boat owned since 1984. That said, I never owned an inflatable. My gut feeling is that it would be of no help, possibly even make the problem worse.

Post a picture of the motor height vs. the keel.
Thanks, that was kind of my thoughts as well that it may do opposite to what it is meant to do. I don't have any pix handy regarding the motor height but the cavitation plate is about 1-1/2 to 2 inches below the bottom of the keel. Will have to measure things up again. Common sense tells me that the motor may be a bit high because of the way it is responding. I have used the Doel Fins on some of my glass boats with some improvement.

Sea Rider

Supreme Mariner
If the prop is aerating a doel fin won't cure the issue and will dump money into the deep blue. Is the motor currently sitting flat on transom ?

Correct starter procedure :