how to break in a new tohatsu 9.8 4 stroke motor

thomasiam

Seaman Apprentice
hi all,

i just got a new tohatsu 9.8 4 stoke motor and want to ask a simple question on how to break it in.
acording to there website they give you a chart staing different hours but falls short in extact what it means. i'm totally new at this so have no idea what they are refering to in the table. can you help?

this is the table from to Tohatsu web site.

table.jpg

So the first 10 mn put it on idle. i get that.
from 10 min- 2 hours put the throttle at less than 1/2 position and let it run for 1:50 min or does it mean you can leave it on in gear but not to go over 1/2 throttle for 1:50 min.....

PLEASE HELP!!!!!!

Last edited:

Packard8

Seaman
Re: how to break in a new tohatsu 9.8 4 stroke motor

It is my understanding that they are referring to running in the water, motor in fwd gear. The motor needs to be under the normal load for all the parts (drive as well as engine) to seat in properly. It could be done in a barrel of water I suppose, but I'd suggest just taking the boat out and following the times & RPM's as per the manual.

I'm sure you'll enjoy the new motor, I have a 20 HP 4 stroke and so far it has been flawless in operation.

thomasiam

Seaman Apprentice

It is my understanding that they are referring to running in the water, motor in fwd gear. The motor needs to be under the normal load for all the parts (drive as well as engine) to seat in properly. It could be done in a barrel of water I suppose, but I'd suggest just taking the boat out and following the times & RPM's as per the manual.

I'm sure you'll enjoy the new motor, I have a 20 HP 4 stroke and so far it has been flawless in operation.

i suppose you can take it out and break it in per manual. :grumpy: I was planing to have it ready to go 100% when i am in the water rather than spending 10 hours in the water breaking it in. :facepalm:

Packard8

Seaman