Hot water heater troubles

BassCat73

Petty Officer 1st Class
I'm only about a year into owning my home, so I am new to troubleshooting my appliances and such. A couple weeks ago my hot water stopped heating water. I hit the reset button and all was good until this morning. It stopped heating water again. I hit the reset button again and I'll have to wait to see if it starts heating water, but since this has happened twice now, I'm wondering if there's something else that I need to do to fix the problem? Any suggestions?

mrloring

Petty Officer 2nd Class
Re: Hot water heater troubles

Hot water heater? Why do we need to heat hot water? Shouldn't it be a cold water heater?<br /><br />Just kidding! I wanted to subscride to the thread so that I may help once we get more info.

mrloring

Petty Officer 2nd Class

Reset button? Was the pilot light out?

BassCat73

Petty Officer 1st Class

I couldn't find where there pilot light was located this morning. I had to look at it quickly, as I was on my way out the door for work. Not sure if it was out or not.

sangerwaker

Commander

When the thermocouple goes bad, the pilot light will not stay lit. It's a cheap and easy fix. I like to keep a spare one around just in case mine goes bad. Just make sure you get one that is long enough.

BassCat73

Petty Officer 1st Class

That's the part that measures the water temp? I assume I can just tell the parts store what model of water heater I have and they can find the correct one for me??<br /><br />mrloring, LOL... "hot water heater" yes, that's a bit redundant, isn't it. :)

sangerwaker

Commander

No, the thrermocouple is the safety for the pilot light. They usually come in 12, 18, 24, and 36 inch lengths. It goes from the gas valve to the pilot light assembly. One end of the thermocouple is touching the flame from the pilot light. When it goes bad, the pilot won't stay lit. Most are pretty universal.<br /><br />They look like this:<br />
THERMOCOUPLE.JPG

BassCat73