general fuel question

jdstephwacotx

Seaman
Once a motor idles....if you continue to pump the bulb (assuming the bulb and lines are in good working order) should the motor flood and die?<br /><br />I'm trying to think of ways to trouble shoot everything between the tank and the carbs and I have no experience.<br /><br />Other suggestions welcome.<br /><br />Also, when the cover and wrap is off and I can see into the tops of the 2 carbs (inline 4 outboard) should I see fuel spraying into the carbs when I pump the bulb (motor off now)? I definitely should if I rock the throttle between forward and neutral right?

Terry H

Lieutenant Commander
Re: general fuel question

inline 4 huh? Prolly not a j/E problem. What's the problem, someone here can surely let you know how to troubleshoot. No, you shouldn't be able to flood the motor from the primer bulb if the carbs is working properly, and no fuel should spray outside the carbs at any time nomatta what...and last but not least, what motor are you working on, model # and brand...

jdstephwacotx

Seaman

Not outside the carbs. I meant when I'm looking into the carbs with the motor off. What can I do to see if fuel is spraying into the carbs as it should?<br /><br />76 Merc 85HP <br /><br />What sort of symptoms should I have if I'm getting air in my fuel lines from a bad bulb or connections?<br /><br />It idles fine but quits when I put it in gear.

Bradster941

Petty Officer 1st Class