Freshwater Mussels?

KMC

Seaman Apprentice
Hey all,
I am a student studying American freshwater mussels. I live in Massachusetts where unfortunately there are not that many mussels to find. I am looking for people who come across the little (sometime not so little) buggers when outdoors. I am only looking for dead/spent/empty shells, not live ones. I would love anyone who finds the muskrat/raccoon middens on the side of the rivers/lakes (or how ever they come across the mussels) to box up a bunch of paired fellas big and small and send them my way. I collect and study and write about all the different species. I'm not concered about big or small, the more different ones the better. Anyone who would be able to help me with my studies by just picking up a bunch of the ones you find while fishing would be a HUGE help in my studies. I would certainly compensate you for your effort and of course pay for shipping too. The only requirements would be that you provide matching paired (not single) valves and that they are not totally broken (they don't have to be absolutely perfect with no chips at all, but the cleaner with their natural "skin" the better). I've been trying to make contacts with people across the country that naturally run into mussels while out fishing or hiking that might be able to just pick up shells they come across without it being a big hassle for them. I can't thank enough anyone who would consider assisting me with this project. You can contact me through this site Thank You!!!!! And good fishing!!!
-Kevin

Last edited:

Bob_VT

Moderator & Unofficial iBoats Historian
Staff member
Re: Freshwater Mussels?

Kevin, Welcome to iboats. You may display your email in your profile but not on the board in the thread.

Come on over to VT and visit Lake Champlain or many of the other lakes (when there is no ice) and you will see we are infested with zebra mussels.

Bob

catfishcharlie

Seaman Apprentice