Fiberglass Boat Paint

First off. I have a fiberglass boat. In its previous years prior to me owning it, it had been repainted. I don't know what they did but i am redoing it. It has no more gelcoat and i have sanded it down smooth. Not to bare fiberglass but with the old paint still on it. My biggest question is about topside paint "above waterline". Kinda confused on what definition of above waterline is. I mean do i have to put boat in water and mark where water line is and not put ANY topside paint below that? I'm new at painting boats. Probably a dumb question. Or can i do the whole side of my boat with topside paint? Its always trailered and in fresh water. I'm just mainly confused about topside and bottomside paint. Any suggestions on what i should do here? Appreciate any input. Thanks.

mrdjflores

Lieutenant Junior Grade
Re: Fiberglass Boat Paint

If you search through the forums, you will find many threads on painting. But to sum it up, if you trailer the boat, many people (including myself) use a 'topsides' paint on the bottom of their boats. 2 of the most popular paints are the Interlux Brightsides or the Pettit EasyPoxy....but there are many others out there.

just my 2 cents worth of information

DJ

Yeah i was kinda thinking the same thing. I have been looking at those 2 particular paints. What primer would you recommend? And this process seem right? 1. primer, 2. sand primer, 3. coat of topside, 4. sand, 5. another coat of topside. done?

mrdjflores

Lieutenant Junior Grade

if you go with interlux, use interlux primer......if pettit, then use their primer...it's best to stick with one company

One more question. How do i determine how much paint i will need? Sold by the quart. Its a 17' shallow draft semi tri-hull. Sides are only approx. 2.5 feet tall. I would hate to not order enough and don't want to get to much. Just guess or what? lol

mrdjflores

Lieutenant Junior Grade