Do you let your outboard warm up?

Rowroy

Petty Officer 2nd Class
I'm brand new to boating, but not to the internal combustion engine. I always let my car, truck, bike, whatever, warm up before pushing it too hard, but I see a lot of boaters running their rigs wide open as soon as they hit the water. The engineer in me says that can't be good.

Do you folks let your motors warm up before "nailing it"?

Shizzy

Ensign
Re: Do you let your outboard warm up?

I always have a few yards of "no wake zone" so there is a good minute or two of low RPM use. I dont worry after that.

My motorcycle I always fire it up, put on my gear and hop on and ride off.

my truck I fire it up, buckle up and drive off. easy on it till I see the temp gauge needle start to move.

wildmaninal

Lieutenant Commander

With some of these older outboards and even some of these newer outboards you may not have a choice but to let them warm up especially in the winter time, if you try to take off with them just after you start the motor sometimes they will go dead. Some motors are cold natured, some of it is just the nature of the motor.

I really don't know how it might hurt the motor if you just take right off with it and not let it warm up. I let mine warm up for a minute or so if not longer, especially if I just started it up for the first time in a while after launching.

Silvertip

Supreme Mariner

An outboard runs much cooler than a car or truck so they get to operating temperature (150 degrees - give or take a little) quite quickly. There is an issue when you hammer down when cold if you have removed the thermostat because of some poor reasoning. Pistons expand much quicker than the block so without a thermostat, cold-seizing can occur.

tashasdaddy

Honorary Moderator Emeritus

i start mine, and let it warm up, while the others board.

j_martin

Admiral

Even with a thermostat, cold seize can occur if you start it and hammer down right away.