Do I take the tree down completely?

korygrandy

Senior Chief Petty Officer
Well, it is a very tall tree, in fact so tall I'm not sure I could estimate the height. There are many more trees like this within my post-war neighborhood (60's concrete and 2x6's).

My next door neighbor has expressed his discontent with the size and is concerned of the day it falls down. I guess I am not thinking along those lines, as everyone in this neighborhood should be concerned then.

I don't know if he is concerned about the lean, or the height but I may ask the next time I see him.

If I take this sucker down, there are power-lines strung throughout the neighborhood that surely would be interrupted. Not to mention it would probably cost a fortune and I hate to cut down a perfectly good tree.

I realized after I uploaded the vid its not the greatest quality so I will snap some pics tomorrow am.

My synopsis and I am by no means an expert... The tree on the left looks healthy, 90% of it's branches are alive. I figure I cut down the 1 or 2 thinner branches up higher and the tree will thrive furthermore. As for the tree to the right, it too looks healthy to me with a few more branches that are dead, but nothing large that when it fell would do any damage.

To me, and as I saw this in the past year with the many trees in my neighborhood, the branches fall, people deal with them *chain saws and hired help, and they move on. Should I really cut this awesome tree down ahead of its due-date?

The reason I'm posting this is yes the tree just looks mamouth, but should I let it scare me. The biggest dead branch I was concerned with just dropped naturally in my yard today, so I snapped up the twigs and I probably need to make a couple cuts to get it in my bonfire pit. Nothing major in my opinion. I have seen trucks in the neighborhood and heard them grinding up branches, but I haven't paid much attention if they were full trees or just general tree maintenance.

GA_Boater