Deck replacement question

phi1

Cadet
Hi there,

I just picked up my new project boat! Its a Mitch craft 25ft center console, see pictures below! I got the boat very cheap $4k knowing that it needs some work, the motor runs and drives fantastic, the deck has a few soft spots and I am planning on replacing the deck nearly 100% I am going to remove t top and center console and cut right the way back till near the live well (the floor and stringers back there are solid as a rock!)

I have undertaken huge car projects normally haven't really done much boat work but I am a carpenter/contractor by trade so I am pretty hand with wood work etc!! I have worked with fiberglass before, so after doing research I believe the best way is going to be to cut the floor at the bottom of the gunnels so I can then remove it and I will have something to epoxy/fiberglass back to.

My plan was to remove everything from the deck and then cut out the floor remove all foam and stringers and then replace and reinforce, I was going to use marine ply and coat it in epoxy to help weather it. Once I have laid the new floor down what is the best way to bond / put on the top service to make it strong and ready for the final coat of the awl grip textured floor I am going to use. I was also considering 2 layers of marine ply to make it extra strong is this a good idea or not?

Pretty much to summarize,

1. cut old floor out at bottom of gunnels,
2. remove old foam and stringers
3. install new stringers and foam ( need product suggestion for stringers)
4. install new marine ply coated and sealed in epoxy.
5. fiberglass/epoxy new ply to gunnels and smooth the join
6. smooth all gunnels, floor so a nice even cover of awl grip textured white can be painted