could it be the prop?

Si Rey

Petty Officer 3rd Class
Got an 89 Sea Ray 220 Sundancer, Mercruiser 5.7L, ALpha 1 Gen 1 outdrive with 14.5x17 aluminum prop. Engine was turning only 3900 rpm @wot, sooo I went down to 15x15 ss prop (Quicksilver). Rpm's came up to 4700 + rpms. Here's where it gets interesting. I now go up to 14x17 ss prop (Stilleto) to try and bring rpms down a little. The rpms go down to 4500 @ wot. I shut the engine off for about 15-20 min to go swimming. Start the engine up, rpms @ wot are 3900. where did the 600 rpms go? I didn't touch a thing- honest! Engine runs fine. Don't think it is the tack in error as I can hear the difference in engine rpms between 3900 and 4500. I noticed that the rpms during the rest of the day on the lake would vary 100-200 rpms without rhym or reason. I'm new at boating and this is my first boat, had it about 3 months. Any ideas from anyone would be greatly appreciated>

QC

Supreme Mariner
Re: could it be the prop?

The rpms go down to 4500 @ wot. I shut the engine off for about 15-20 min to go swimming. Start the engine up, rpms @ wot are 3900
Same exact trim position? Same water condition? Same wind condition? Bimini up or down in both cases? Does the boat take on any water? Do you need to run your bilge pump? If the answers are truly absolutely no difference, then it is probably some sort of engine issue.

Si Rey

Petty Officer 3rd Class