Baretta Success Open Bow

BarettaRestore

Recruit
Hello All,

I am new to boats and hoping this site and you all can help me out from time to time! Me and a couple buddies found an 88 Baretta Success for $400 that we purchased. The boat seems to be in decent shape at best, with a newly rebuilt engine. Have not taken up the carpet yet to check the wood, but the outer shell is in fantastic shape. The boat certainly needs some interior work done, but that is why we bought this. We are looking forward to starting this project! We will post pics tomorrow when we pick it up, and go from there! Any suggestion are greatly appreciated and any knowledge on this particular boat is welcomed! Hang with us, we are new to this, but are super excited to get started! :)

Thanks!

Nick, Aaron, and Josh

finx

Petty Officer 2nd Class
Re: Baretta Success Open Bow

Welcome!

I picked up my first boat last month! I was completely new to boats as well. So far I've spend 1K in tools and supplies. 40 hours of labor and I'm a quarter of the way there. It's a lot of work but I've never felt so accomplished.

Have fun and read, read read. The forums has virtually every question already answered.

BarettaRestore

Recruit

We are looking forward to it, picking it up today in a couple hours actually, then plan on getting right to work. Thanks in advance to any help or tips!

Woodonglass

Supreme Mariner

Welcome to iBoats!

I'm not an I/O guy but...
All boats tend to rot from the bottom up. If she's been outside and exposed to the elements for any length of time then you should...
Check the motor mounts extensively for any signs of rot.
Check the transom especially around the outdrive for any discoloration and on the inside for any softspots or signs of leaking.
Check every Square inch of the deck, All corners, edges, Everywhere for softspots.